Something new…

This is part of an effort to increase frequency of blog posts. Not every one will be a life altering tome, but there should be a gem or two in the mix 🙂

I am currently mid-flight on my way to the Washington D.C. area for the Chiron Training Instructor Development Course. For those who are thinking “What’s Chiron?”, that is the name Rory Miller picked for his training and development company. Chirontrainingonlyclean@2x.png

It’s a great name from Greek mythology. Chiron was deemed be the superlative centaur among his peers, as he was called as the “wisest and justest of all the centaurs”. (thanks wikipedia). I’m more than a bit biased, but long before Rory named me a director for Chiron, I was reading and absorbing as much material on the topic of self defense as I could find…. and one particular glut of work either keep rising or the top OR getting referenced in my other readings. You guessed it, Rory’s various works.

That was what lead me to probe friends for their opinions (Thanks Raffi for the strong suggestion) and ultimately bringing Rory in to my own academy sight unseen. That’s something I do not do typically. I always travel to train with someone to vet them as useful for our ultimate goal before bringing them in and asking my students to spend their valuable time and resources with that individual. Obviously, it worked out…

417369_10151040579219601_381202726_n.jpg
August 2012

Now, over 6 years later, I’m traveling to help Rory teach an Instructor Level class. It’s fun, it’s exciting, it’s kinda weird. A big part of my brain will forever be the student. Despite running an unknown number of my own students through various levels of instructor development, I’ve never worked on this with strangers. I’m very much excited for the fresh challenge…
More to come…

 

Author: bushidoandbourbon

The original name of this blog was Bushido, Bullets, Barbells, Bruises, and Bourbon.... but that was too much to remember. The goal is easy, to provide a musing place for all things involving martial training, self defense concepts, health, fitness and things that interest me or are particularly irksome. Enjoy the ride kids...

Leave a comment